Inspiration from Nature

I work as a facilitator for the Strolls for Well-Being program at the Bloedel Reserve on Bainbridge Island. It’s a job I love, and feel privileged to do. The program is meaningful to me on a personal level, as it was a part of my healing of artistic block. I participated in the pilot program back in 2014, and worked alongside of the founder, Ruth McCaffrey, after she and Sally Schauman brought it to the Bloedel Reserve from the Morikami Garden in Florida. 

It’s always a joy, because I get to companion people who are engaging in self-care through immersion in nature. I witness growing awareness, healing and peace as participants simply stroll in nature with intention.

I was working Friday and Saturday, and as usual, came away joyful and grateful. These photos give you a small taste of the beauty of the place. You can see why it continues to inspire me as an artist, and offers peace to visitors. I hope you’ll treat yourself to a visit the Reserve – and consider signing up for the Strolls for Well-Being! The next 10-week session begins in September.

Redbubble is having another sale today; you can save 20% by using the code SHARKMANIA at checkout.